A potato-ish affair: Potatoes worth a little carb loading

So, confession: I. love. carbs. There, I said it. Come on, I know you do too. So delicious, filling, stuffing. Mmmm. Well, when I want to pretend that I am not cheating on my low-carb wannabe diet, I make potatoes. Sometimes I make potatoes that are the polar opposite of everything healthy and clean that I want to be. But, today I made potatoes that are just close enough to the line that you may feel like you haven’t even cheated. This, my friends, is my potato-ish affair. In. its. glory.

Healthy Potatos

 

Whenever we have friends over I always feel like there should be something carby and delicious on the table, I mean, come on…no one actually likes most of what we pretend to have to eat. So, Instead of making my signature crack potatoes—oh yes, I will definitely be sharing those soon—I decided to branch out and try something more natural and just as delicious.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love cooking healthy. I love turning boring food into delectable food, all while saving time and money. But sometimes a girl’s gotta eat, ya know?

I started with six smallish potatoes. Just rinse and chop, no need to peal. Once I had these in my pan, I added some of my favorite chicken seasoning, just to shake things up.

IMG_0760

 

Then I sprinkled the potatoes with a bit of lemon juice and olive oil. This really added the tangy-goodness that I was looking for. I wanted to marry the salty seasoning and starchy potatoes, lemon and fresh mozzarella did just the trick!

IMG_0763

 

Now tell me those don’t look fantastic! What’s  your goto when it comes to a sorta-healthy food affair?

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium potatoes
  • 2 Tbsp chicken seasoning
  • 1.5 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup fresh mozzarella crumbled
  • Drizzle of olive oil

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350°
  2. Rinse and chop potatoes, place in an oven-safe pan.
  3. Season with seasoning and lemon juice, mix well.
  4. Drizzle with olive oil.
  5. Crumble mozzarella cheese on top.
  6. Cook until potatoes are soft, generally 50-60 minutes (you can boil beforehand to speed this time up).
  7. Enjoy!

Now that, is worth a little table talk! You know what I always say, ok so I’ve probably never said it before but you get the point, if you’re gonna cheat on your diet, you might as well make it delicious and at least semi-nutricious! Share it, love it—eat it!

xoxo Ashley Kate 

One thought on “A potato-ish affair: Potatoes worth a little carb loading

  1. These look fabulous, Ashley Kate! I’m definitely trying your potatoes. I never get tired of potatoes, but my kids tend to get bored with them…so I’m always looking for new ways to prepare them! This is a fabulous recipe! Thanks so much for sharing…and you have a lovely blog. Have you visited Fiesta Friday yet? If not, you should!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

